top of page

It's okay to be frugal/ Groupon is the future!


Who told us that we can't ball on a budget? Have you ever been a college student? You ever had to go to sleep for dinner? Yeah, not fun times at all! A word I just embraced last year is "frugal" and let me tell you it's somewhat the best word ever. At this age we're pretty much spending money we don't have all the time! Let me tell you how Groupon saves my life (lol). Literally, their slogan "save money with things you do everyday" is the truth!!! They have goods (chargers, flash lights, pillows, face masks), getaways (all inclusive, 5-10 miles away, hotels), things to do (bowling, laser tag), etc. You're NOT about to tell me I'm paying full price for anything. And if Groupon doesn't have it than where can you find me? Amazon! Don't play with me lol, that prime membership comes in handy honey.

But no seriously, there are always ways to save money. You don't have to ball out all the time. Anytime if you don't want to. Clip some coupons, say no to an outing, take advantage of deals and promotions. The only people that will call you broke are people that are broke pretending to be rich or the literal rich assholes. It's okay to struggle right now. For the most part we are in our early 20's and more concerned with being here for a good time and not a long time!

When entering a store grab the sales paper or ask if they're running any deals right now. Go to your favorite website and sign up for emails about promotions. Ask if they have student discounts. Shop at the thrift store. Buy the off-brand brand of your favorite foods (9/10 it'll taste exactly the same). Buy meals that'll last a couple days. Don't eat out everyday. Enjoy FREE activities such as concerts, museums, or just take a walk out side. You're not about to tell me going to the club and paying $150 for a bottle is fun when you could have went to the liquor store and got the same bottle for $30! I will not be mislead.

Be as frugal as you possibly can, create a financial plan that works for you, and stick to it! You don't have to save a lot. Start out with a dollar a day and work your way up. Discipline yourself to not switch that savings into that checking.

This is for all my certified broke mamí's & papí's. If your balling for real, then by all means blow it how you wish! I'm a firm believer in spending money for enjoyment. Like I said we are here for a good time, not a long time. And if that's also you let me know if you need my cash app! 👀 Thank you for reading my blog! Subscribe & leave me some messages! ❤️

bottom of page