top of page

Do You, Always.


You know some times I look at life like math class..... and I hate math, always have and always will! It’s definitely not because I’m bad at it but because I didn’t see the point of being forced to study something that no longer used numbers but letters smh. I figured once we knew how to add and subtract everything else was cool! Even division and multiplication are variations of addition and subtraction like gotdamn! I completely understand if it's needed career wise, but other than that.... irrelevant.

The point I’m trying to get to is that even though I hated math it did teach me at least one thing: that we can execute multiple equations (or paths to reach a resolution) but if the “problem” is done correctly then we will get the true answer in the end. I started to look at life in this same light. A lot of us are either too scared to do something differently than what we KNOW will bring "success" or we follow the rules of the institution above us who tell us we must do everything the same way. I remember this picture I saw online last year (below).

It's a picture of hundreds of sheep escaping through a gateway. The picture is so iconic to me because there is no fence but they are all running one

behind the other to escape through the gate. I thought to myself "look at how silly these sheep look following the other when there is clearly a better/easier way." It then occurred to me that, again, we are no different than nature. We have been taught this exact mentality of feeling trapped. Can you say MIND-BLOWING! I noticed in math class I would always try to find simpler equations and easier ways to solve problems. I wanted to skip as many steps as possible while producing the correct answer. I know some of you remember in math class that if you didn’t write out each step the teacher would either deduct points or outright say the answer was wrong. I continued to do things my own way despite multiple deductions to my work. Remember, regardless if it's a 100 or 60 point score, I still learned the information and could test out if I wanted. This is life plain and simple!

People will look at your loopholes like you’re “taking the easy way out”, they will look at you write out the whole problem and tell you that your wasting time, or will even discredit you if you work out everything in your head claiming “you don’t have it all together.” We need to realize that other people’s statements on our lives are nothing but opinions. You are the center of your world and it is only as big as you make it! So starting today go out and make it as big as possible! Find out how you operate. Find out how you love. Find out why you have the habits you do. Find out what speaks to your spirit and then never stop doing that!

 

"Once you’ve started down that road to self-discovery, no matter how treacherous the path before you, you can’t turn back. The universe doesn’t allow it."

–Lisa Unger

bottom of page