top of page

What is a Leader?


DISCLAIMER: I’m sure you all read a blog of mine before and with doing so I’m sure you know that everyone has a purpose in this world. When I say “follower” in this blog I mean anyone who isn’t leading. There’s no time for any misunderstandings I’m here to encourage you! Now here I go with another nature reference lol.

As a leader, often times, we try to convey how hard we worked, why we deserve things, and what it took to get where we are to others. Being a leader is often glorified until you are put in the position to be one then many begin to notice that it isn't as ideal as you might have wanted. I feel that leaders are born and even if you go your whole life in the background, one day you will be called forth to fill the job. As a LEADER there is no time to become weary, you were built for the battle. Your followers are your support system, they are there to make up where you lack and help give you a more inclusive idea of what’s best for the pride/pack/group. The picture above spoke so loudly to me and I read every section multiple times. Initially, looking at the photo (without the arrow and other shapes) we wouldn't think the leader would be in the rear of a group. A leader is usually placed at the front as a method to guide everyone who follows. This is why I chose wolves as an example because this doesn't appear to be your average hierarchy of power even in nature. You'd think that's the weakest link, the one falling behind. When in actuality it is the opposite, GENIUS!

I noticed I loved to pave paths, I like to nurture hidden talents, and make sure everybody is straight regardless of how I feel. Although it is often difficult, leaders know they could never do anything else. Any other role wouldn't quite fit. I read somewhere that what makes a good leader is that the leader does not look out for self but for the pride, always. I am a Leo (a lion being my spirit animal) so this seems in my nature. We often look out for others more than ourselves & that can be seen as a weakness or disadvantage and until today I thought that very thing myself. But I also found that even when I am in extreme turmoil, if I can at least help ONE person than I know I’d feel better soon.

Leaders know who they are because it shows in real life, work, school, etc. Don’t mistake me, a leader isn’t the most flashy person. They don’t disrespect or belittle you, that’s a BOSS. A leader makes the whole group feel important, included, and like they have a voice. You go to bat for people because it's the right thing to do. You are the one with the vision and the will to get shit done! There’s no need to worry either, as a leader we know that we face many dangers but by doing so, even if we fall, another leader will rise. Only in the face of a leader can leaders be born. Become a leader today, pass down what you’ve learned to others. Making others great will not discredit your greatness in any way. Build others up, there’s no place in this world to tear people down. If the leader of the pack in nature were to start looking out for self would we even fear the sound of wolves? Would lions even be the king of the jungle?

 

"A Leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way."

- John C. Maxwell

 

bottom of page