top of page

Your Struggle is Building Your Character

There's nothing worse to me than the cycle of poverty. Now, I've been through some really tough/ratchet situations but I always kept in the front of my mind that things could ALWAYS be worse. My mother tried the best she could to provide for her 4 children on her single income. She worked two jobs most of my childhood and I

could literally feel the exhaustion radiating from her body (Side note: shout-out to all the single mothers out here grinding! That kind of strength is unmatched and I see you babygirl!).

We often had to go without things and for the longest time I would play victim. I felt that the world owed me things. I felt the world owed me money, time, peace of mind, happiness, love, etc.! But boy was I wrong. I am a firm believer that we are put through things in order to grow through things. I look back on my life and I bust out in tears sometimes. For the simple fact that I serve an awesome God that loves me unconditionally. I have looked back and literally couldn't understand why I was going through whatever I went through but now I understand.

"If there is no struggle, there is no progress."

-Frederick Douglass

My struggle not only built my character it allowed me to realize my passion. I can't not sympathize, empathize or understand people that are impoverished if I've never been in poverty. I cannot understand the joy of food if I've never starved. I cannot see beauty in all things if I've never stared ugliness dead in the face. I cannot help people find the light if I've never been in the dark. I cannot be resilient if I've never been knocked down before. I cannot be frugal and creative if I had all the money in the world to just buy things. I cannot help a domestic violence victim if I've never been beat before. The world owes you nothing! You have everything you need within you. Our light often dims but we must never let the flame die. Allow me to throw gasoline on your fire and tell you I've had a hard life but it can always get better if you allow it to. I could still be angry about the things I've never had, the food I never tasted, the love I didn't feel, the depression I had, and the sadness I've felt. But for what? You must care for yourself. You must grow. You must continue on because if you aren't growing you are dying.

I challenge you to accept wholeheartedly the pain you've been through. I challenge you to cry about it if you haven't before. You must endure or you will reflect every generational curse brought upon you on your children, your man, your woman, your friends. You are strong and able. If you are not strong enough get help until you are. Take that pain and transition it into power. I believe in you. Struggle builds character and your traits are to die for! I challenge you to cast out those toxic thoughts & understand your mental state is all that you have.

"All life demands struggle. Those who have everything given to them become lazy, selfish, and insensitive to the real values of life. The very striving and hard work that we so constantly try to avoid is the major building block in the person we are today."

-Pope Paul VI

bottom of page