top of page

Beat Yo' Ass


"I beat yo ass, keep talkin' back I beat yo ass, who bought you that? You stole it, I beat yo ass if you say that game is broken I beat yo ass if you jump on my couch I beat yo ass if you walk in this house With tears in your eyes, runnin’ from Poo Poo and Prentice Go back outside, I beat yo ass, lil nigga That homework better be finished, I beat yo ass Your teachers better not be bitchin' 'bout you in class That pizza better not be wasted, you eat it all That TV better not be loud if you got it on Them Jordans better not get dirty when I just bought 'em Better not hear ’bout you humpin' on Keisha's daughter Better not hear you got caught up I beat yo ass, you better not run to your father I beat yo ass, you know my patience runnin' thin" -Kendrick Lamar "FEAR" "I'll beat yo ass" The famous line of a black parent. You're supposed to love me, you're supposed to nurture me..... not beat my ass. That beating your ass turns into "I'll put ur ass out if you think you're grown." Why make me feel like a stranger in this home? In this home you told me was OURS to begin with. A home I've grown to know too well. Why make me feel like I HAVE to slave for another mans dream? Why not let me go to school to slave over my passions, it seems I am a rat in a maze, in a daze, off of weed, I gotta eat but you're telling me I gotta pay you rent, you see My whole check I have spent on unnecessary bullshit and travel fees to another mans dream, bills, tickets, shyt that doesn't matter but.... You'll beat my ass if I can't get it together. What do I know better? Than to beat my child's ass if they outta line I'll beat their ass because they're mine We don't talk things out in this Black family I'll beat yo ass if you're questioning my parenting techniques...... "As your kids grow they may forget what you said, but won't forget how you made them feel." -Kevin Heath

bottom of page