top of page

Dear Momma


No person on this earth is perfect. I've read somewhere that "life doesn't come with an instruction manual, God gave us mothers." Everyone that knows me knows I am a womanist and I wholeheartedly love women. What a

blessing it is to be a woman. We are blessed with our unconditional loving, ability to see the good in all things, we are strong, we endure every struggle presented to us with grace, and we get shit DONE. Now, I've started this post out with the sentence I did because I'm going to make a quick posts about mothers. I don't know every mother. I don't know every situation so forgive me if this post isn't about you & your momma. You all might know from my other posts I've grown up with a single mother of four children. Of course I couldn't get the latest clothes and shoes, we had to miss a couple meals, the lights have been off for months, and all that other unnecessary stuff. Being as young as I was I can admit that I was selfish and ignorant. I can say with the deepest regret that I hated my mother some times. I know we all go through that phase but looking back I wish I never gave her the push back I did because my mother is a true blessing to my life! We often don't think about how our mothers feel, what they've sacrificed for us, all the times they had to go without for us, the unconditional love they have, the way they try their HARDEST to make sure we are happy and healthy. How could you disrespect that?

Yesterday I seen an Instagram post about a doctor delivering a baby. It was odd to me because the doctor was crying in the picture so I took the time to read the prolonged caption. He stated that for years this woman and her husband have been trying to conceive a baby with no luck. They tried every procedure possible and was almost on the verge of giving up. Then one day, by the grace of God, the woman was able to conceive. Fast forward to the end! The mother spent hours in labor and finally delivered a baby. The woman held the baby and thanked God for such an amazing blessing. Sadly, the woman dies shortly after that prayer. The doctor had said an interesting quote that stood out to me. It read "women travel to the valley of death in order to bring forth new life".... the most accurate description! Scientifically, the body isn't even supposed to endure as much pain as it does while in labor. Hence, the reason many woman die after delivery. Even MORE woman go forth with having a child even after the doctor tells her "it's either you or the baby." What a selfless act of love I've ever seen one.... Mind your manners when talking to your mother. I just watched the Bobby Kristina story (Whitney Houston's daughter). Bobby Kristina was so heartbroken her mother passed away with the last memory being them having a huge argument and Bobby Kristina screaming she hated her twice. Imagine having that burden.... who could live with that? No mother is perfect but her underlying motive is to love and protect you. Speak to her as she will not be here tomorrow.. Call her. Check on her. Never be too selfish with time that you deny it to your own mother. She woke up out her sleep an infinite amount of times to cater to you every time you cried, every time you were sick, every bad dream. It might not have been met with affection all the time. You might get a "shut it up before I give you something to cry for!" type love. Nonetheless, it's all love! Remember, she has lived without you but you have never lived without her. Think about the little things she does to make you happy. One day I was in my room and my mom walked in and didn't say a word. She put some fruit on my bed and water on my dresser and walked out. Who else is going to love me like that? Who else is going to love you like that? I cannot name another person. God bless all the mothers.

bottom of page