top of page

You Have Never Taken a Loss


You’ve never taken a loss you’ve only learned more lessons. Think about it, look back and assess everything you’ve thought you wanted. And I’m not talking about money or anything superficial. I’m talking about a job, a partner, an activity you wanted so bad but never received the opportunity to be great at. Or you did receive the opportunity and totally blew it. Think about how it shaped you, what you learned, and how you’re better now. I know for myself I’ve taken plenty of “losses.” I never got into some schools I really wanted, couldn't keep some relationships (partners, friendships, family) I really

wanted to work out, I didn’t get a job I prayed so hard for, etc. Now look at me….. I am so happy it didn’t work out like I planned.

Often times we plan things that aren’t as beneficial as we hope. I can say this for certain because I am an absolute planner of MY future! I can really sit here and visualize my entire future. And when (or if) it doesn’t work out as planned I get stressed af! I get thrown off or awhile or I may even give up. Giving up has its pro’s and con’s. Realize that if you can honestly say you’ve put your best foot forward and tried your absolute best you’ve NEVER taken a loss. Everything isn’t for everybody and always remember God’s plan is better than our own.

“A good balance of winning and losing is important. If you just win all the time, you won’t get anything out of it; having some tough losses can really be important.”

- Andrew Shue

I’ve never really been a sore loser. Partly because I was the youngest of 4 and my siblings would always beat me at everything. Also, because I understood that I cannot win all the time. We all know that “you win some, you lose some” quote. I always ask people “what do you learn from winning all the time?” and they usually respond “to keep winning.” So imagine if we never loss. Imagine if nothing ever humbled you in the best way? Compare that person to the person you are now. We need to lose, we need to be without, and sometimes we need to be broken down in order to be built back up for the better. I believe we’d all be completely arrogant and oblivious to hard-work. Imagine literally winning at everything. You wouldn’t know where to focus your talent, what to be in life and everything would grow boring. That’s completely unlikely but I like to put images in my reader’s heads (lol).

“Sometimes you win and sometimes you learn.”

― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad

What's a rainbow without the rain? How could you know happiness without pain? Remember the sweetest victories come after a thousand losses. Speak unto yourself that you’ve never actually experienced a loss (other than the aspect of death). Life is about learning and continuous growth. Nothing about life is easy and hardly anything you really want will be handed to you. That doesn’t mean not to go get it, work hard. Try again, Try again, and TRY AGAIN if you really want it. Then one day you will look back and say “I didn’t understand at the time but I understand now.” It’s all worth it! Believe it.

bottom of page