top of page

Self-Obsession

In august I posted this quote on my Instagram story: "you're obsessed with everyone & everything but yourself and that's where you'll fail every single time..."

I just kind of wanted to let people know that I see they're so busy praising everyone else that they're only leaving space to feel empty inside. I know you know we spend a lot of our time comparing what we have to what we don't have, what we are to what we aren't and what others display to what we think we deserve. Honestly, we are asking to live an unhappy life. Social media, on the forefront, was made to bring people together. To make us believe that even though this world seems so big it's actually so small, that you are not alone and there are like-minded people out here similar to you. We have taken that image and distorted it! Now we're more depressed than ever, we're anxious and hot-headed, we're outright losing our minds.

I want you to really sit down and love yourself. Learn to love EVERYTHING about you. Just how you look at others, there's probably someone out there looking at you the same way. Be obsessed with your qualities because there's no one on this earth that has everything that you do and that's your power. I used to sit and pick myself apart too. Even the most beautiful people once thought something about them was/is ugly.

"You are so used to your features, you don’t know how beautiful you look to a stranger."

-Unknown

I remember a story an old co worker told me about my eyebrows, yes I said my eyebrows. As you can clearly see I have really thick eyebrows (as well as my coworker). I'm just a hairy person lol came to accept that years ago. She said she would always wonder why I didn't get them plucked or waxed. Rude? I know! Just kidding. Honestly, she wasn't the first person to ask me that but after the shock of that random question she told me that she loved how I accepted and wore my natural eyebrows. She went on to tell me that for the longest time she wouldn't go outside if her eyebrows weren't done or just feel a negative way towards her own, but seeing me accept mine made her want to challenge her own insecurities. She challenged herself to let them grow how they're supposed to, not caring what others said about them, and above all, learning to accept herself for HER. That's what means the most to me! You inspire people by being your authentic self! You weren't made to be anybody else.

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” ― Dr. Seuss

bottom of page